Election Branch


To conduct elections for the Parliament and the legislative Assembly/council peacefully is the main duty assigned to this department. In addition this section also looks after the preparation of Voter’s List, preparation of Voter’s Photo-identity card. Election Branch deals with following acts Representation of People’s Act, 1950. Representation of People’s Act, 1951.


Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar District is geographically situated in the North Central region of Maharashtra. It lies in the basin of Godavari river. Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar District is surrounded by Jalgaon district in the north, Nashik and Ahmednagar districts in the West, Beed in the South and Jalna in the east. The geographical area of the district is 10.80 lacks hectares. There are 1368 villages in the district (706 kharif village and 662 rabbi village) The population of the Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar District is 28.97 lacks as per 2001 Censes. The Urban population is 10.86 lacks and the rural population is 18.11 lacks. Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar district is very rich in historical, architectural and sculptural aspects. The Ajanta Caves, which houses the world famous paintings, is 105 kms. from the Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar city. The rock cut caves and the world largest rock cut Kailash temple are located in Ellora Just 29 Kms away from the city. Paithan which was known as Prastishthan was the Capital of Satavahanas. It is famous for Saint Eknath Mandir and the Jayakwadi Project and Bird Sanctuary 51 Kms from Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar. The impregnable fort of Devgiri, now Daultabad, is an imposing structure located 15 Kms. away from city on the way to Ellora. Bibi-ka-Maqbara, Panchakki and Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar caves are the other noteworthy places. The other important places nearby Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar are Nashik, Shirdi and Lonar. A Municipal Corporation, One Zilla Parishad, One Cantonment and Six Municipal Councils are there in the district. A High Court Bench of Mumbai High Court is also located in the city. There are four industrial estate located in the district namely Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar, Chikalthana, Waluj and Paithan. Besides two Medical Colleges and Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University, numerous institutions of higher learning are there in the district.

There are following five Revenue Sub- Divisions and Nine Talukas in the Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar District.

SNO Name of the Sub Division Taluka in the Sub Division
1 Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar Rural and Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar Uppar Tahsil
2 Vaijapur Vaijapur and Gangapur
3 Sillod Sillod and Soegaon
4 Paithan Paithan and Phulambri
5 Kannad Kannad and Khultabad


There are two parliamentary Constituencies in Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar District, namely,

There are two parliamentary Constituencies in Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar District, namely,

  1. 19-Aurangabad Parliamentary Constituency.

    19- Aurangabad Parliamentary Constituency comprises of following 6 (Six) Legislative Assembly Constituencies of Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar District.

    1. 105-Kannad
    2. 107-Aurangabad(Central)
    3. 108-Aurangabad(West)
    4. 109-Aurangabad(East)
    5. 111-Gangapur
    6. 112-Vaijapur
  2. Part of 18-Jalna Parliamentary Constituency.
    1. 104-Sillod
    2. 106-Phulmbri
    3. 110-Paithan


Following forms are also available free of cost at all Tahsil Offices And Sub-Divisional Offices Dist. Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar and may be submitted in same offices.

Sr.No. Form No Particular of Forms
1 Form No.6 Application for inclusion of name in electoral roll
2 Form No.7 Application for objecting inclusion or seeking deletion of name in electoral roll
3 Form No.8 Application for correction to particulars entered in electoral roll
4 Form No.8A Application for transposition of entry in electoral roll
5 Form No.18 Claim for inclusion of name in the electoral roll for a graduates constituency
6 Form No.19 Claim for inclusion of name in the electoral roll for a teacher’s constituency
7 Form No.2 Registration of a member of the armed force Part-A, Defence service Part-B, Armed police forces, Part-C, Foreign Services
8 Form No.13F Proxy to classified service voters